Stewart one of three U.S. scholars to receive 2014 China Residency Award

  • Stewart

Mart Stewart, Department of History, received a 2014 China Residency Award from the Organization of American Historians to support a week-long seminar in environmental history for advanced graduate students and university professors from throughout China at the American Studies Center, Beijing Foreign Studies University. The award was announced at the April 2014 OAH Annual Meeting in Atlanta, and the seminar it supported, with 32 participants from 16 universities, was convened in Beijing in June. Stewart was one of three U.S. scholars to receive this annual award; the two other recipients of the 2014 award were Jon Butler, Yale University/University of Minnesota and Darren Dochuk, Washington University. The award was made possible by a grant from the Ford Foundation, and by support from the Organization of American Historians and the American History Research Association of China.

Friday, October 17, 2014 - 12:59pm