New site recognizes excellence in sustainability

Western Today staff
Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 11:05am

The Office of Sustainability at Western Washington University has added a section to its website that highlights success stories from the Sustainable Office Certification program.

The program fosters practices in support of university and community sustainability. Completing the SOC score sheet earns recognition of those offices with a commitment to sustainable practices, and those with achievement of Sustainable Office Certification are invited to share stories of their actions and innovations.

The first two recognized offices are the Teaching-Learning Academy and the Biology Stock Room. These two are the SOC program’s only two platinum-level offices.

Biology Stock Room SOC Team: Peter Thut, Kendra Bradford, Mark Price, Jeannie Gilbert and Sarah Hoag

The Biology Department was a pioneer office for sustainable practices, beginning with its efforts as a 10x12 pilot department/building. In 2014, the Biology Stockroom staff voluntarily completed Sustainable Office Certification, scoring over 121 of a possible 148 points for actions ranging from recycling and waste reduction to electricity consumption, transportation and more.

Teaching-Learning Academy SOC Team: Shevell Thibou, Simon Bakke, Kali Legg and Caroline Dallstream

Spearheaded by Shevell Thibou with student co-facilitators Simon Bakke, Caroline Dallstream and Kali Legg, the TLA Sustainable Office Certification Program has seen enormous success since the program's kick-off at the end of 2012. First reaching a SILVER level score in March 2013, the TLA staff implemented a number of boundary-pushing measures to increase their score over 50 points to PLATINUM level by October of that same year. TLA, a part of the Western Libraries Learning Commons, currently holds the highest SOC score of any departmental office.

Continue reading these stories and learn more about the SOC Program at SOC Success. Contact for more information.


Biology Stock Room SOC Team: Peter Thut, Kendra Bradford, Mark Price, Jeannie Gilbert and Sarah Hoag