Board of Trustees recap: June 10-11

Paul Cocke
University Communications


Editor’s Note: After each Board of Trustees meeting, Western Today provides a recap of decisions and discussion.

WWU Trustees Approve 2010-11 Operating Budget; 2011-13 Capital Budget Requests

The Western Washington University Board of Trustees on Friday, June 11 approved Western’s 2010-11 operating budget.
The trustees also approved Western’s 2011-2013 Capital Budget Requests.
The 2010-11 operating budget totals $131.75 million and reflects a 5.3 percent supplemental state budget funding reduction to Western. The legislature, facing continued sharp drops in state revenue, passed a budget that cuts Western in 2010-11 by an additional $3.073 million recurring in its base budget and a one-time reduction of $1.172 million. These reductions are in addition to a 28.8 percent cut to Western’s operating budget from the 2009 legislative session.
The trustees also approved Western’s 2011-2013 Capital Budget Request totaling $57.950 million.  These are requests the university will be making to the state legislature for capital projects.
For more information please see:
Also on the agenda at the June 10-11 Board of Trustees meeting, the trustees:
  • Elected new board officers for the two-year terms: Dennis Madsen, chair; Ralph Munro, vice chair; and Betti Fujikado, secretary. The trustees also recognized previous board chair Phil Sharpe for his strong leadership and dedication to the university.
  • Welcomed new trustee Tod Leiweke.
  • Thanked student Trustee Sarah Ishmael for her year of exceptional service on the board
  • The Western Women Rowing Team for winning its unprecedented sixth straight national team title at the NCAA Division II Women’s Rowing National Championship.
  • Angela Harwood, professor of Secondary Education, for her service learning contributions to Western, its students, and our community. Her achievements in building school-university partnerships, and in using service learning practices in teacher education, have been recognized nationally by the Education Commission of the States, and by the Thomas Erlich Faculty Awards, which recognize the nation’s most outstanding service learning faculty. 
Were introduced to:
  • 2010-11 Faculty Senate President Scott Pearce. The trustees thanked previous Faculty Senate President Dan Larner for his superb leadership and service to the university.
  • Colin Watrin, the Associated Students president for 2010-11. The board also thanked outgoing AS President Matt Jarrell for his strong and active leadership.
  • Paul Dunn, senior executive assistant to the President.
  • Mandatory student fees for 2010-11; and the 2010-11 Academic Self-Sustaining Program fee schedule.
  • Amendments to the Audi Committee Charter and Amendments to Internal Audit Charter, Policy and Procedures.
Delegated authority to award construction contracts for:
  • A Campus Safety Voice Annunciation System; the project installs a voice annunciation system for campus-wide emergency notification in buildings.
  • Network Infrastructure Switches.
  • Stabilization of the university’s Armory property. The trustees heard that the long-term solution to the landmark’s eventual restoration likely will be a future, as-yet-undetermined public-private partnership.
  • Upgrading the Ridgeway Beta Residence Hall.
Heard updates on:
Meeting documents are available at the Board of Trustees Web site here. For a complete audiocast archive of the June 10-11 Board of Trustees meeting, go to
Monday, June 14, 2010 - 10:11am