Submitted by gallagm7 on Fri, 07/06/2012 - 10:49am

A run of seven straight national titles ended for Western Washington University, but not without a courageous fight by the nationally No.1-ranked Vikings who finished second at the 11th annual NCAA Division II Women's Rowing National Championships. Humboldt State, which won both the four and eight grand finals, took the team title. "Humboldt State just had a great season and had awesome races by both boats. They definitely earned that title. But our kids rowed their hearts out. They didn't leave anything out there. I'm really proud of them. Being second in the nation is pretty good."

Earlier in the season, the varsity eight and second varsity eight each had gold medal winning performances at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championship Regatta.

And at the 12th annual Northwest Collegiate Rowing Conference Championships, Humboldt State upset the top-ranked Western in the featured varsity eight race, though the two teams tied in points.

Individual honors included:

  • Elite 89 award for the 2012 NCAA Division II Women's Rowing Championship: Megan Northey, team captain and the first Viking student-athlete to receive the honor in any sport.
  • Capital One Academic All-America second team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America: Megan Northey.
  • 2012 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association/NCAA Division II Pocock All-America women's rowing first team:  stroke Jean Piette (Sr., Vancouver/Columbia River) and team captain and No.7 seat Megan Northey (Sr., Brier/King's).
  • Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association National Scholar-Athlete:  Hannah Gallagher (Sr., Seattle/Garfield), Carson MacPherson-Krutsky (Sr., Seattle/Garfield), and team captain Megan Northey (Jr., Brier/King's).
  • Capital One/College Sports Information Directors of America Academic NCAA II District 8 women's at-large team: Megan Northey.
  • 2012 Northwest Collegiate Rowing Conference All-Academic team: Sara Crowell (Fr., Bainbridge Island/Bainbridge), Hannah Gallagher (Sr., Seattle/Garfield), Christine Henie (So., Chugiak, AK), Maddy Hillier (Sr., Sedro-Woolley), Yvette Kelp (Jr., Lakewood), Annaliese Koleber (Jr., Centralia), Carson MacPherson-Krutsky (Sr., Seattle/Garfield), Claire Marine (So., Enumclaw), and Megan Northey (Sr., Brier/King's).
Term Topics